Bishops Lydeard Church School | Our Curriculum
page-template-default,page,page-id-10333,page-child,parent-pageid-10576,edgt-core-1.0.1,,hudson-ver-1.8, vertical_menu_with_scroll,grid_1200,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.0.1,vc_responsive

Our School approach to the Curriculum 

Bishops Lydeard Curriculum Statement

Learning is at the heart of everything we do and our curriculum encompasses every part of the child’s school day.  We believe our curriculum is engaging and relevant to today’s children and offers challenge and support to all in their learning.

We have looked at the skills and learning entitlements we want for our children. We have linked these with the community and immediate and wider environment.

First hand Experiences in our school, community and the wider environment

Experiences we want to offer our children

Skills we would like our children to develop

Reception Children follow the Early Years Curriculum and we use The National Curriculum to plan sequences of learning for children from Y1 – Y6. The coverage and knowledge being taught is routinely checked to ensure an enriching curriculum is being taught.

The curriculum consists of core subjects: English, Mathematics, Science, Computing and Religious Education.

Foundation subjects such as Art, Design Technology, French, Geography, History, Music and PE are also taught as well as Personal, Social, Health Education (PSHE- Jigsaw).

We teach in phases and have a two year rolling programme for the curriculum. (EYFS, KS1, LKS2, UKS2). Please see the 2 year rolling programme below.

2 Year rolling programme

Curriculum Overview cycle A Bishops Lydeard

Curriculum Overview cycle B Bishops Lydeard

Curriculum overviews

Based on the two year rolling programme we create overviews for each area in each topic. Below are the more detailed overviews.


KS1 Curriulum overview


LKS2 Curriulum overview


UKS2 Curriulum overview

Curriculum Maps

For each topic, we create curriculum maps that show what will be covered in each subject for each year group- these can be found below.

Please visit class pages to see the learning in action.

Current curriculum topic maps

Previous curriculum overviews


EYFS Autumn Term 2018 Overview

Year 1 and 2 Autumn Term Overview

Year 3 Autumn Term Overview

Year 4 Autumn Term Overview

Year 5 Autumn Term Overview

Year 6 Autumn Term Overview


EYFS Spring 2019 Overview

KS1 Spring 2019 Overview

Year 3 Spring 2019 Overview

Year 4 Spring 2019 Overview

Year 5 Spring 2019 Overview

Year 6 Spring 2019 Overview


EYFS Summer Term overview

Year 1 and Year 2 Summer Term overview

Year 3 Summer Term overview

Year 4 Summer Term overview

Year 5 Summer Term overview

Year 6 Summer Term overview


Curriculum overview 2017/2018








Reception Class Spring Term

Year 1 and 2 Spring Term

Year 3 Spring Term

Year 4 Spring Term

Year 5 Spring Term

Year 6 Spring Term


EYFS Summer Term

Year 1 and 2 Summer Term

Year 3 Summer Term

Year 4 Summer Term

Year 5 Summer Term


How We Teach Phonics.

In order to further improve reading at Bishops Lydeard Church School we have adopted Read, Write, Inc Phoncis.

The phonics chart is displayed in each classroom and used to practise speed sounds daily. In addition speed sound cards are also available on the tables for the children to use.

Reception also build a further display as the sounds are learned.

Each lesson consists of:


Individual tracking document to be completed for each child at the end of each half term. The outcomes are analysed to inform next steps for children in small group work.

How You Can Help Your Child

The best way you can support your child at home is by reading regularly with them, sharing and enjoying books. By practising the sounds and tricky words your child is currently learning you will be able to reinforce all they have been learning in school.


In order to improve reading at our school we have invested in Read, Write Inc (including the books for EYFS and KS1) and Accelerated Reader from Year 2 upwards. this allows us to closely monitor and check the match of the book to the child to ensure progress and challenge.

Whole Class Teaching of Reading

From September 2019 we will be using Cracking Comprehension to both teach reading skills and develop vocabulary during whole class sessions. This enables all children to fully participate in rich discussions and benefit from quality first teaching for more of the English session. This approach will enable our children to make improved progress in this key skill which we recognise allows children to unlock the broader curriculum and be ready to fully take advantage of their secondary education. In addition Cracking Comprehension supports the development of teachers subject knowledge while supporting workload demands.

White Rose Maths Scheme for Maths

For maths we follow the White Rose Maths Scheme.

We ensure that we use concrete resources to support children in using new concepts before we start to represent our work in the pictorial and abstract representations. 

We also use a mental maths scheme called ‘Natty Numbers’ where there is a clear progression through using mental strategies for each year group.

Growth Mindset

As a school we embrace everyone having a Growth Mindset. We believe and support our children to believe that no individual has limits and that they can succeed if they want to. We recognise effort as a key part of learning. In our classes we use the language of, ‘If you can’t do something, you can’t do it yet‘. We support our children to be resilient and show endurance in their learning.

Below are some Growth Mindset videos that are our favourites



Further information about the curriculum

If you would like more information on how we teach areas of the curriculum or the curriculum itself please speak to your child’s class teacher or for English and Match Mrs Harvey and for all other subjects Mrs Culverhouse (foundation subject curriculum lead).

You can also look at our class pages and website gallery to see the curriculum in action.

We also have open classroom afternoons and presentations of learning for parents and the community to join us and celebrate the learning happening in school.

In September 2014 a new statutory curriculum was introduced- please follow the link below for information on the National Curriculum

The New 2014 Curriculum